Eparchial Male Choir

History of Eparchial Male Choir of Saratov Ecclesiastical Province

Eparchial Male Choir of Saratov Ecclesiastical Province was established in December 2003 by the blessing of his Eminence Longinus, Metropolitan of Saratov and Volsk, at the Descent of the Holy Spirit Church in the city of Saratov. In addition to church services within Saratov ecclesiastical province, the choir also performs concerts and actively participates in public awareness campaigns.

The Choir gave concerts at many famous concert halls of our country including the Grand Hall of Moscow Conservatory named after P.I. Tchaikovsky and the hall of Russian National Museum Association of Musical Culture named after M.I. Glinka.

The choir’s repertoire is rather vast and includes both arrangements of ancient chants and authored compositions from various musical eras. The majority of choir’s repertoire consists of pieces composed by members of Moscow Synodal School such as Pavel Chesnokov. Alexander Grechaninov, Alexander Kastal’sky, Viktor Kalinnikov and Nikolay Tolstyakov as well as compositions of modern authors which aim to replicate Russian historical traditions of liturgical singing such as deacon Sergiy Trubachev, archmandrite Matthew (Mormyl) and others.

Arguably, unique arrangements of old art songs and Russian national songs are some of the most vivid parts of the choir’s concert performance. Some of the arrangements used in the choir’s repertoire were written by the precentor Alexander Zanorin. Careful attitude and original approach towards basic principles of choral singing allowed the Choir to create its own style of Russian sacred music performance. Soft cantilena, emphatic lyrics, inspired expressions and emotional delivery – these are the factors contributing to the Choir’s outstanding performance of compositions that vary both in style and in character.

Ever since it was established, the Eparchial Male Choir has been precented by Alexander Zanorin, a graduate of Saratov State Conservatory named after L.V. Sobinov and a descendant of a renowned family of choirmasters. His dedication and tremendous creative power gives the Choir an opportunity for professional growth and accumulation of musical experience.

The choir is mostly comprised from professional musicians – students and graduates of Saratov Conservatory and Saratov Orthodox Seminary – as well as members of Saratov diocese clergy.

Currently, the choir is a close partner of Academic Symphonic Orchestra of the Philharmonic Hall of Saratov Region named after A. Shnitke.

Eparchial Male Choir of Saratov Ecclesiastical Province has participated in and received awards from various festivals such as the 625-year anniversary of the Battle of Kulikovo, the festival in memoriam of M. Rostropovich, the Golden Lights of Saratov etc. The choir also performs charity church concerts at the conservatory during annual Pimen Readings organized by the Saratov diocese.

During the decades of its existence, the choir has published several compact disks containing audio recordings of its best performances.

Bishop male’s choir

Of Saratov’s archdiocese

По благословению Высокопреосвященнейшего Лонгина Митрополита Саратовского и Вольского

История Архиерейского мужского хора Саратовской митрополии

Архиерейский мужской хор Саратовской митрополии основан в декабре 2003 года по благословению Высокопреосвященнейшего Лонгина, Митрополита Саратовского и Вольского, при храме Сошествия Святого Духа города Саратова. Помимо участия в богослужениях на территории Саратовской митрополии хор ведет активную концертно-просветительскую деятельность.

Хор выступал на многих известных концертных площадках нашей страны: Большом зале Московской консерватории им. П.И. Чайковского, зале Всероссийского музейного объединения музыкальной культуры им. М.И. Глинки.

Репертуар хора достаточно обширен и включает в себя как обработки древних распевов, так и авторские сочинения различных эпох. Большую часть репертуара составляют сочинения композиторов Московской Синодальной школы: П. Чеснокова, А. Гречанинова, А. Кастальского, В. Калинникова, Н. Толстякова, а также современных авторов, в творчестве которых прослеживается тенденция возрождения исконно русских церковно–певческих традиций — диакона Сергия Трубачева, архимандрита Матфея (Мормыля) и других.

Несомненно, одной из ярких частей каждого концертного выступления хора становится исполнение оригинальных обработок старинных романсов и русских народных песен. Некоторые из аранжировок в репертуаре коллектива были написаны регентом Александром Занориным. Бережное отношение и оригинальный подход к основным принципам хорового исполнительства позволили хору сформировать свой стиль исполнения русской духовной музыки. Мягкая кантилена, выразительная лирика, вдохновенная экспрессия в сочетании с эмоциональной подачей текста позволяют коллективу исполнять разностилистические и разнохарактерные сочинения.

С начала существования Архиерейского мужского хора бессменным руководителем является выпускник Саратовской государственной консерватории им. Л.В. Собинова, потомственный хоровой дирижер Александр Занорин. Именно его вдохновенная работа и огромный творческий заряд позволяют хору расти профессионально и накапливать музыкальный опыт.

Основной состав певцов хора представляют профессиональные музыканты: студенты и выпускники Саратовской консерватории и Саратовской православной духовной семинарии, а также духовенство Саратовской епархии.

В настоящее время продолжается тесное сотрудничество с Академическим сифоническим оркестром Саратовской областной филармонии им. А. Шнитке.

Архиерейский мужской хор Саратовской митрополии неоднократно становился участником и лауреатом различных фестивалей, среди которых фестивали к 625-летию Куликовской битвы, памяти М. Ростроповича, «Золотые огни Саратова». Также во время проведения епархиальных ежегодных Пименовских чтений хор дает традиционные благотворительные концерты духовной музыки, которые проходят в консерватории.

За десятилетие существования были выпущены несколько компакт–дисков, в которых собраны лучшие произведения в исполнении хора.

Наши певцы